PROFESSIONAL  AGGRESSIVE  EFFECTIVE

PROFESSIONAL AGGRESSIVE EFFECTIVE

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. motor vehicle accidents
  4.  » How fault works in Tennessee car accidents

How fault works in Tennessee car accidents

| Nov 11, 2020 | motor vehicle accidents

Tennessee allows injured individuals to sue after a motor vehicle accident under the state’s fault laws. A driver has financial responsibility if he or she has at least 50% fault for the crash according to the court. 

Review the state laws about liability and fault that apply to Tennessee auto accidents. 

Tennessee auto insurance coverage

Drivers can seek coverage under another driver’s liability policy after a crash. Tennessee drivers must carry liability insurance to cover the costs of accidents in which they are at fault. The policy minimums are $15,000 for property damage per accident, $25,000 for injury or death of one person and $50,000 for injury or fatality of multiple involved parties. 

If the insurance adjuster decides the policyholder is at fault, the company will offer a settlement. He or she must consider all available documentation including driver statements, witness statements, police reports, evidence of distracted driving, and photos and videos of the crash site. 

The injured person can file a lawsuit if he or she disagrees with the fault determination or the settlement does not cover the costs associated with the injury. 

Legal auto accident damages

The court will review all evidence in the case to make a fault determination and award financial damages if applicable. Tennessee uses the modified comparative negligence standard, which means that a driver who has up to 50% fault can collect damages from the driver with more than 50% fault. However, the court reduces the damage award by the injured driver’s fault percentage. 

In Tennessee, drivers have just one year to file a personal injury claim after an auto accident. 

Archives